Through the eyes of a 7 year-old

I have a great little brother, Roarke, who is 7 years old.  He lives about 2 hours away and we only get to see eachother every couple months.  He and his mom just moved so that they’re about a block away from my dad, so he’s been getting to spend more time with him, and as a result, I’ve spent a lot more time talking to him on the phone.  Between our phone conversations and seeing eachother every now and then, he makes me laugh a lot.  Since my sister-in-law got pregnant, there have been some great baby-related ‘Roarke-isms’ that I don’t want to forget!!

  • Justin and Becky called Roarke to tell him they were pregnant when they were about 9 weeks along.  His mom was in the background feeding him questions, so he asked, “How far along are you?”  When they told him they were 9 weeks along, he responded, “Well why didn’t’ you tell me 9 weeks ago?!?”
  • Then he started suggesting names for them.  His favorite show is Ben 10: Alien Force on Cartoon Network.  So Roarke suggested to Justin and Becky that they name their baby “Ben” if it’s a boy and “Gwen” if it’s a girl, because that’s like Ben only for a girl.  They said they hadn’t decided on any names, but Roarke was pretty insistent.
  • Roarke and my dad came to visit when I was about 6 weeks pregnant, so we told them in person.  Roarke’s response was, “but you’re not even fat!!”  Becky was starting to show, and the typical image of a pregnant woman is when she’s big towards the end, so I can see where that was coming from.  I didn’t fit into his schema for someone who’s pregnant – or “fat” as the case may be 😀
  • I called my dad one day when he and Roarke were hanging out.  I had just started experiencing morning sickness, so when my dad asked how I was feeling, I told him this.  Roarke heard tid-bits of the conversation and then asked my dad what that was.  My dad very nicely explained to him that sometimes when a woman is pregnant, she gets an upset stomach.  After that, Roarke and I talked for a minute, then he hung up with me and immediately called Becky to see if she had a stomachache.
  • After we heard the heartbeat, I called my dad to let him know.  Roarke was just coming in the door, so I got a chance to talk to him as well.  He asked something along the lines of ‘why did you call’ or ‘what have you been doing’ so I told him that we’d heard the baby’s heartbeat and I wanted to tell dad about it.  He responded, with a tone implying that I was crazy, with, “You heard the baby’s heartbeat…huh…”  I quickly changed the subject, because I didn’t think I’d convince him!!

I still have a hard time believing that Roarke is as old as he is.  I was there when he was born and was one of the first to hold him, feed him, change him, etc…  It was amazing.  I imagine that it will be even more special with our baby next summer.  And I can’t wait to see how Uncle Roarke handles having baby nieces and/or nephews around next year!!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

