20 down, 20 to go

I haven’t given a BabyMort vs. Produce comparison in a while, so here goes…  At 20 weeks, from head to toe, BabyMort is about the length of a banana, approximately 10 inches.  A produce reference for MamaMort has also been thrown out this week.  My uterus is about the size of a cantaloupe.  BabyMort is swallowing more, practicing for digestion, and producing meconium (which I’ve heard is a blast to deal with…)  BabyMort can hear sounds now, my voice, heartbeat, and even sounds outside the belly.  If there’s an especially loud sound, he/she will cover its ears with its hands – I imagine it’s adorable 😀

Being about halfway through the 2nd trimester, I have to agree that this has been easier than the first.  I don’t get nauseous anymore and have learned to eat often enough that I rarely feel sick from that.  I still find myself going to the bathroom a lot, but I’m sure a lot of that has to do with the fact that I drink more water.  The only time it really bothers me is at 2AM, but even that has become so routine that it doesn’t bother me too much.  My lower back and hips are bothering me a little more, but the Snoogle I got for Christmas seems to be helping and I think the prenatal yoga will do wonders for me as well.

After the first time I felt BabyMort move I didn’t really mention anything to DaddyMort when I’d feel BabyMort move.  I know he really wants to feel that as well, so I didn’t see the point in constantly mentioning it.  Something, when we’re just hanging out on the couch or just waking up in the morning, he’ll rest his hand just under my belly button in hopes of feeling something.  Well, Sunday morning he said, “I just felt the baby move!”  And by golly, the baby had moved!!  I felt it probably 4 or 5 more times in the next couple minutes, but never said anything.  A couple of those times though, he’d say “I just felt it again!!”  Our doctor told us he probably wouldn’t feel anything until 22-24 weeks, so DaddyMort said, “Dr. Leeds will tell me I didn’t feel it…”  I figure since he said something before I did that he must have actually felt it, so I told him just not to mention it to Dr. Leeds and that way his bubble can’t be burst!!

We have our ultrasound in 3 days and we’re so excited!!  I know I’ve said it before, but I just can’t wait until we’ve seen our little baby and can refer to it as he or she instead of, well, it!!  We’ve pretty much said from the start that we wanted to find out, although I’m sure both of us have had our moments where we thought about waiting, but I know I’ll feel so much better once we know!! 

Here’s what I look like this week.  I don’t know if I look a whole lot different than last week, although I have gained a couple pounds since last weekend, so hopefully some of it is the baby and it’s not all just sitting around in my hips!!

20 Week Belly Shot

 
20 Week Belly Shot
Leave a comment

Filed under Prego Update

Leave a Reply

