Thanks Wikipedia!!

I went to the chiropractor this morning, because my right hip and my very lower back/upper butt (for lack of a better description) have been bothering me a lot. I went about 5-6 weeks ago, and, try as he might, he couldn’t get me adjusted. I thought I’d give it another shot though, because I’m sure everything had moved around since then, so I thought he might be more successful. Well, he still wasn’t very successful, although it went a little better than last time. He focused on doing what he could for my hip, because it was the most persistent problem. Then, as I was walking out the door, he said something about coming back more often as I get closer to my due date and that a lot of women have problems with their sacrum later in pregnancy. I was in a hurry to get to work, so I didn’t ask a lot of questions, but I wanted to know what the sacrum is. In comes wikipedia…

I found out that the sacrum is my “very lower back/upper butt.”  The official Wikipedia definition  follows:
The sacrum is a large, triangular bone at the base of the spine and at the upper and back part of the pelvic cavity, where it is inserted like a wedge between the two hip bones. Its upper part connects with the last lumbar vertebra, and bottom part with the coccyx (tailbone).

I now have a better description!!  And my not-so-good description really wasn’t that far off – my ‘very lower back’ is the last lumbar vertebra and my ‘upper butt’ is the coccyx.  I have been trying to figure out how to explain this to my husband, mom, yoga instructor, chiropractor…for weeks now, but just sort of fumble around, because I didn’t know what to call it.  Now I feel well informed, and next time I go to the chiropractor or ask the yoga instructor about a good stretch, I’ll just let them know that my sacrum is bothering me.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

