28 weeks and counting

According to BabyCenter, BabyMort weighs about 2 1/4 pounds and is 14.8 inches long.  She can open and close her eyes – her eyes that now have cute little eyelashes.  She’s adding on body fat and her muscle tone is improving. 

I’m feeling pretty good.  I’ve still been having heartburn, hip pain and lower back pain.  I’ve had trouble falling asleep the past couple nights, but I think I’m just adjusting to the time change.  The good news, is that once I’ve fallen asleep, I’ve been sleeping much better and woken up with less back achiness.  Thanks new bed!!

At 28 weeks, I’m considered to be in my 3rd trimester, regardless of what you read.  (Different sources have it starting anywhere between week 26 and now.)  28 weeks feels like a much bigger milestone for me, personally, though.  My mom delivered my older brother by emergency c-section at only 28 weeks.  When she was pregnant with me, she was put on bedrest at 28 weeks and I still arrived 7 weeks early.  

This is what my brother looked like at 2 days old.  When he was born, he weighed in at 2 pounds and was 14.5 inches long.  He spent the next 12 weeks in the hospital and had a lot of close calls.  My mom and dad were told that he would have cerebal palsy and would be in a wheelchair.  Well, 25 years later…

justin-at-2-days-old-single

…here he is with his beautiful 2-day-old daughter.

justin-and-julia

Although my brother is living proof that a baby could survive, and thrive – living a normal, healthy life – if born at this point, I hope that Chloe will happily stay put for the next 12 weeks (or at least close!!) growing bigger and stronger every day.   I consider myself lucky that I’ve had a healthy pregnancy so far and hope that I will continue to be so lucky!!

Leave a comment

Filed under BabyMort, Milestones, Prego Update

Leave a Reply

