“Drowning isn’t good for your pregnancy”

That’s what I learned at my doctor’s appointment.  Good to know!!  I was asking if he had any suggestions for my lower back pain.  He gave me a piece of paper with some exercises and said heat in the form of a heating pad or hot bath would be okay.  Then he went on to say that a lot of woman like pools, because it’s a temporary relief from the effects of gravity (but it sucks to get out) and that hot tubs are okay.  The ‘no hot tub’ rule only applies to the first 6 weeks – as long as you follow the posted instructions and don’t stay in longer than 10 minutes.  The only problem with hot tubs, according to my doc, is that “When you stand up, all the blood drains down to your feet, you pass out, hit your head and drown.  Drowning is not good for the pregnancy.”

My doctor also likes my shirt, although since there’s green in it, he thinks I should have waited until next Tuesday to wear it.  I’ll sleep better tonight knowing that man who wears scrubs and red Converse hi-tops every day likes my outfit 😀

Really, everything was fine.  I’ve gained 25 pounds so far and should gain about a pound a week the rest of the pregnancy.  Personally, I hope I won’t top the 35 pound mark, since 25-35 is my recommended weight gain, but they said I’m doing alright.  I measured just fine and when he heard BabyMort’s hearbeat he said, “That’s what a healthy baby sounds like.”

I go back in just 2 weeks this time.  I’ll have to start thinking about my outfit…

Leave a comment

Filed under Doctor's Appointments

Leave a Reply

