Baby Slings

I really want to use a baby carrier with BabyMort – or “wear” her as the terminology goes.  There are certain benefits to baby-wearing that I’ve read over and over again.  Some of the benefits include:

  • A continuous daily relationship with a caregiver results in the most intelligent nurture of a young child. It also provides a constant and assuring presence.
  • A baby held in-arms, or worn in a sling or carrier, moves as a unit with the parent. The adult’s hands are free to care for older children and perform other tasks. Baby can calmly indicate when to be put down instead of crying to be picked up.
  • A baby whose cries are responded to promptly learns to trust. When children are accustomed to being comforted by people, not things, family relationships tend to remain simple.
  • Children integrated into the daily life of family and community have a tremendous educational advantage. Babies in-arms are mostly in a quiet alert state of consciousness, observing their surroundings from a secure perch. Older children learn lessons that are relevant and essential to their well-being.
  • Both parents and babies get their needs met by unhurried communication and humane interactions. The respect shown to small children by parents will reflect back on them in later years.
  • Wearing your baby helps harmonize your infant’s systems, because they mirror the caregivers movement, breathing, and heartbeat. These rhythms reflect the womb experience, easing the transition into the outside world.

A few of these reasons touch on this idea, but I think overall if would be a great way to bond with BabyMort.  Not to mention, it’ll leave my hands free to deal with curious and excited dogs!!

But so far, I haven’t managed to get any further than knowing that I want to be a baby-wearer.   You might be thinking, “What more is there to decide?”  Well, that’s what I thought at first too.  Turns out, there are dozens of different styles of carriers and slings.  Some are better for long-term comfort, others have easier adjustability and some are a better fit for a breastfeeding mom.  There are certain kinds that would be better for both DaddyMort and I to be able to use and others can grow with BabyMort better than some.  To top it off, I want to make my own sling (well, have someone help me make my own sling – I’m not exactly great with a sewing machine) because most slings cost at least $50 if not $100+ to purchase.  So, I have to factor in the ease of making it into my decision.

I would love input or opinions from any baby-wearers out there.  Anyone have any suggestions??

4 Comments

Filed under Need Input, Products

4 responses to “Baby Slings

  1. Sarah

    I’m a friend of Ambre’s and we meet once at her new house when they were moving in. Anywho… I wore my first daughter, Julia, in three or four different slings. I’d say for me, the easiest to use was the Baby Bjorn. She loved looking out, and the BB is good on the shoulders/back. She personally couldn’t handle the over-the-shoulder slings, because she’d just keep her legs straight out and it made us both really uncomfortable. Finally, when she was about 6 months, I got a mei tai. Adore it! You can wear the babe on front or back and it’s great for mom or dad. I wore her on my back, where she could see everything, but it also helped her fall asleep when I was out and about. However, it’s not the most comfortable thing to wear for hours on end (as I have done), but hey, if the baby will sleep, I’ll do anything!

  2. MamaMort

    Thanks for the info. I looked up the mei tai carrier and I like what I see, although it looks like it would be hard to make, so I should probably get started now – I’m not as crafty as I think I am sometimes!! You said you got one at about 6 months, do you think it would well for a newborn??

  3. Thanks for the info! I also want to buy a sling for my baby. This info helped me

  4. Sarah

    I was just looking on here again, so I guess I can finally reply to your question! 🙂 Yes, the mei tai will work with a newborn. You have to carry them in the front, but I’ve heard of some women doing it in the back (not sure I’d feel that safe flipping the kiddo over my shoulder). There are directions online that will show you the different carrying methods. Also, I got mine off ebay and it was pretty cheap, so if you don’t have a chance to make it, you can always order one.

Leave a Reply

