The Scale vs. Cookies and Ice Cream

I’ve always had a sweet tooth.  I love cookies, candy, ice cream, cake…you get the idea.  So it comes as no surprise that I love eating those foods now, while pregnant.    However, I’ve developed the habit of eating more often during the last few months, so often times I end up eating sweets more often, meaning more sweets in general.  (Lucky for me, I don’ have gestational diabets, or I don’t know how I’d survive.  I’d be crankier, that’s for sure…)

Throughout my entire pregnancy, I’ve said I only wanted to gain 25-35 pounds, the recommended amount for someone who is a normal weight before pregnancy.  I’ve read articles on how not gaining too much can help during labor and help you bounce back after delivery.  And because I’ve always been lucky enough to be pretty skinny, I knew that my self-esteem would take a big hit if I gained a bunch of weight as well. 

Now, at about 34 weeks, I’m dangerously close to the 35 pound weight gain mark, which means in all likelihood, I’ll gain more than 35 pounds.  I knew this was coming.  I weigh myself every few days, so I knew when I’d exceeded 20 pounds, then 25 pounds, then 30…and I suspected that if I kept gaining at that rate, I’d gain more than 35.  But, somehow, I always manage to forget about that when I’m eating ice cream or chowing down on some cookies.  Basically, I feel crappy when I look at the scale, but I don’t change my eating habits at all, so I’ve decided to stop weighing myself at home.

This may not be the ideal solution, but I’ve decided it’s just not worth it.  I still eat my fruits and veggies and maintain an overall healthy diet.  I’ll get weighed at the doctor’s office, so I’ll know if there’s some sort of crazy weight gain.  Anyhow, I have to eat ice cream, because I can’t stand drinking milk, and calcium is really important.  And sometimes you just have to have cookies or cake to go with the ice cream… See, I can justify almost anything, so I might as well just enjoy it!!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

