I’m a dangerous woman.

We had our 37 week check up on Tuesday afternoon.   It was the first time I’d been checked to see if Iwas making any progresss and to figure out how BabyMort was laying.  I’m never quite sure what to expect from our doctor in terms of conversation – during the majority of the exam he was talking to me about my tattoo, previous conversations have centered around my shoe choice and toenail polish – or even “real” medical stuff.  He has a very dry sense of humor and sometimes I can’t tell if he’s being serious or not and he tends to mumble.  When we heard the heartbeat for the first time, he said, “There’s the first one.”  To which I cautiously replied, “What was that??”  He informed that it was just one of his favorite OB jokes. 

So, yesterday when I heard him say something about ‘4 cm, 90% effaced…’ I asked him to repeat himself.  He said “You’re 4 cm, 90% effaced, at -2 station.  You’re a dangerous woman.”  He then speculated that I wouldn’t make it to my due date and told me that most first time moms labor for an average of 20 hours and he was guessing I’d be at about 8.  He said to make an appointment for a week, but he wouldn’t be surprised if he saw me before then.

And wouldn’t you know it – I hadn’t had any noticeable contractions before my appointment, but last night they started up.  I wasn’t sure at first, because I’ve never had a contraction, but after a while, I figured they must be contractions, because I couldn’t come up with any other explanation.

Now we wait…

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

