Sleep Deprived Mama

Chloe has never been a great sleeper.  I can’t say I don’t deserve this – my mom tells me I didn’t sleep through the night until I was 4.  I can only hope that that’s not what we’re facing!!   There are nights when we can see the light at the end of the tunnel, where we think that maybe, just maybe, she might be figuring out this whole sleep thing.  Then, inevitably, she gets a cold, starts teething, we stay out past her bedtime, she figures out how to crawl, bedtime changes because of daylight savings….something happens that messes with her sleep.

This week it’s a cold/ear infection/teething.  We’re up many, many times a night.  I’m lucky to have a wonderful husband who gets up many of the many, many times.  But….I’m still exhausted and usually half asleep and zombie-like when I go in to get  Chloe back to sleep.

At about 4AM last night she was crying, so in I went.  As I got into her room, I couldn’t figure out where she was!!  Common sense would suggest that since I could hear her screaming I’d know she was there.  She can’t pull herself up to standing, let alone climb out of her crib, so, again, you’d think I’d know she was there.  But it was the middle of the night and I was half asleep, so I couldn’t find my screaming baby curled up in the corner of her crib.

I’m sure it was really only about 2 seconds before I spotted her, but considering that I knew she had to be within about 8 square feet, I felt pretty silly that it took me that long even.  In my sleep-deprived defense, she normally scoots down to the bottom of her crib and instead had moved up to the top….

Okay, it’s still pretty sad.  I think we all just need a good night’s sleep!!

3 Comments

Filed under BabyMort, You know you're a parent when...

3 responses to “Sleep Deprived Mama

  1. ambre

    so sorry, friend! I know your pain. 🙂 best of wishes to you for some good nap ties this weekend!

  2. Maybe she’d get sick less if she slept more. Come on, Chloe, be logical! I’m thinking maybe she should stay with me some night. You know, give me good reasons to *not* want another baby 🙂

  3. Sarah

    I remember once hearing Julia cry, I started clutching my chest and freaked because she wasn’t there. Apparently, I had forgotten that I had put her back in her bed and thought she was still with me. Ahh… sleep deprivation does weird things to the brain!

Leave a Reply

