I can’t believe I’ve resorted to this…

Chloe went on veggie-strike.  She was adamant about it.  For a week or so I fought with her nightly trying to get her to eat even 1 bite of carrots, sweet potatoes or brocolli.  We tried it as a puree from the spoon or chunks of finger food.  She was not having it in any way, shape or form.

Then I remembered a baby food jar I’d looked at.  It was some sort of veggie dish.  The first 3 ingredients were: potatoes, water, apple puree.  Yup.  There was more apple than carrots, peas, beans, or any of the other veggies in the picture on the jar.  I remember being mortified when I read those ingredients.  Then came “Veggie-Strike 2010.” 

I’ve heard many times that it’s important to pick your battles.  You know what??  This didn’t seem like a battle that I wanted to continue with an 11 month old.  So one night last week I mixed up some carrots and apple-pear-sauce.  And you know what, Chloe ate it without a fight.

2 Comments

Filed under BabyMort, Eating, You know you're a parent when...

2 responses to “I can’t believe I’ve resorted to this…

  1. Becky

    You’re such a smart mom! Great thing about this battle is that you still win, only she doesn’t know it!

  2. MamaMort

    Thanks Becky!! I know some veggies are better than no veggies, but it feels like cheating sometimes.

Leave a Reply

