Mexican – de los Mortvedt’s*

*Ok, so this title might not actually make any sense, but I took German in high school, not Spanish, so cut me a break 🙂

Last week, we had chicken nachos on the menu for dinner one night.  I asked my husband to grill some chicken that had a Mexican-y flavor, but wasn’t too spicy.  Easy, right??  Well, DaddyMort is my hero, because he made it seem easy and we had the most delicious, not too spicy, Mexican-y chicken for our nachos!!  Combined with black beans and grilled corn, I was in heaven and could have eaten the nachos for dinner every night!!  I thought to myself, “I should share this chicken recipe with the world so they can enjoy the deliciousness as well.”

We had some friends over for dinner tonight and decided to make more of the chicken, as well as some steak and veggies, for fajitas.  We also made a Mexican Quinoa Salad and a Sopapilla Cheesecake to complete our meal.  As I’m now in a food coma, I thought I should share all 3 recipes with you – the world!!

Fortunately for me, my husband is an amazing cook.  Unfortunately, that means he often cooks without a recipe, so I can only share the jist of the Not Too Spicy, Mexican-y Chicken preparation.  After poking holes in the chicken, he marinated it overnight in a mixture of tequila, lime juice, cumin, oregano, chili powder, garlic powder, salt and pepper.  If he had to guess, which I asked him to do, he used about a 1/4 cup each of tequila and lime juice.  He added 1T cumin, 1tsp oregano, 1tsp chili powder, 1tsp garlic powder and salt and pepper to taste.  Then he grilled it off, searing it off on high heat and finishing it with a lower heat.

This is the recipe used as an inspiration for the Mexican Quinoa Salad.  Aaron used green pepper instead of red, left out the jalapeno, black beans instead of pinto and added some corn.  I’m not a fan of cilantro, but I had a bit and thought it was still pretty darn good.

And last, but equally as delicious, we had the Sopapilla Cheesecake.  The recipe was so easy, Chloe and I made it together!!  We assume it won’t reheat terribly well, so we halved the recipe and made it in an 8×8 pan.  Other than that, we followed the recipe exactly.  It was done baking when we started dinner, so it had at least a half hour to cool a bit before we ate it.  It was still warm, but not too runny, and was just about perfect.

If you’re working on a menu and need some inspiration, look no further!!  You can have Mexican de los Mortvedt’s 🙂

1 Comment

Filed under Recipe

One response to “Mexican – de los Mortvedt’s*

  1. You had me at tequila.

Leave a Reply

