The Crafty Mama Edition

With only a few weeks to go unitil BabyD arrives, we’re working on the finishing touches for his room.  We just finished up a couple craft projects tonight, so at this point, there’s some organization left to do and we’re waiting on his rocking chair to arrive.

I wanted to have his name on the wall, but wanted to try for something a little unique.  This is what we ended up with:

I found each letter in a different style from Hobby Lobby.  We used the wall colors – green, tan and orange – along with some brown we have left from Chloe’s room to paint and decorate the letters.  The ‘D’ has a variety of buttons on it (cool side note – some of the buttons are probably 60+ years old, because they all came from a collection of buttons my Grammie saved over the years) and the ‘V’ has ribbon on it.  In my completely unbiased opinion, I think the overall effect is a cool combination of colors and textures.

The other project we took on was making some artwork to flank the window.  I think it turned out really well and it was a good combination of inspiration and leg work on my end and great finish work by DaddyMort.

We started with some 8×10 canvasses and painted them brown.

I printed out the animal shapes we wanted to use and cut them out.  Then I traced around the shape on the canvas with a pencil.

The next step is to get your amazing, talented husband to paint them for you.  (Or maybe you’re a more talented painter than I am, in which case you might not need to employ the services of a husband.  I am not a good painter though, so I was happy that DaddyMort could help me actualize my vision!!)  We used the orange paint from the walls and started painting.

It took 3 coats of paint, but they look fantastic.  Again, just my unbiased opinion 😉

         

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

