Here We Go Again!!

*My mother thinks I share too much on here sometimes, so if you agree with her, you might not want to keep reading. I’ll be using words like “dilated” and “effaced.” You’ve now been sufficiently warned 🙂

I had my 38 week (and 1 day) appointment today. Chloe was born at 38 weeks, and I’ve been trying really hard not to anticipate that he’ll arrive by then, which is good since I’ve now surpassed that mark!! I’m perfectly happy with my decision not to get checked last week, but was ready to know what was going on today. Before checking me, my doctor asked if I’d been having any contractions. I told him I hadn’t experienced anything different than what’s been going on for months now. While he checked me, he described the rules of Speed Scrabble to DaddyMort and I, and then left us waiting in suspense while he finished talking about the cut-throat game he plays with “his wife and some creative writers who always get massive words.” When he finished his rant, he asked if I was sure I wasn’t in labor.

Turns out, I’m 4cm, 100% effaced at a -2 station. He immediately told us that we could schedule an induction for anytime after next Thursday, September 22nd, when I’ll be 39 weeks. I don’t feel like there’s a need to schedule anything yet, and I’d really like to keep things as natural as possible, but I might feel differently a week from now. I spent almost a week at this ‘progression’ with Chloe and was going crazy waiting by the end of it!!

I’ve been feeling more contractions today than I have before, but I don’t know if I’m truly having more or if I’m just paying more attention since I’m armed with this new information. They’re slightly uncomfortable, but not horrible and not close enough together to really worry about. I say that, but then I think, “If I’ve made it this far without anything being ‘horrible’ or ‘close enough’ who knows what all that means.”

So, here we go again!! Time to play the paranoid waiting game…

1 Comment

Filed under Baby D, Doctor's Appointments, Labor & Delivery

One response to “Here We Go Again!!

  1. Maybe you should play speed scrabble instead. It’s way more fun than the waiting game.

Leave a Reply

