4 weeks

We’re 4 weeks in and I’m needing to remind myself that this too shall pass.  Turns out, we weren’t blessed with an easy second child after surviving a very difficult first child.  I’m exhausted, impatient and frustrated.  As a result, I feel like I’m not being a good mother to Chloe or Devon, a good wife to Aaron, a good friend, sister, daughter, etc…

I don’t know why Devon is often so unhappy.  We’re trying medication for acid reflux and probiotics to help with digestion.  I’ve tried cutting out the dairy from my diet.  We’ve used gas drops and inevitably we bounce – at least we learned (and mastered) that trick with his sister.  Since we haven’t had a lot of success, we have an appointment with his pediatrician later this week so we can hopefully come up with a solution.

DaddyMort wrote about hitting his stride.  I haven’t gotten there yet.  I know it’ll happen eventually.  I just have to remind myself of that when I’m on the verge of tears (or in tears) because Devon just won’t stop crying; because I lost my patience with Chloe; because when Aaron gets home I haven’t even thought about dinner, even though I’ve been home all day.  I’ll get there though – Chloe’s proof that we can survive.

1 Comment

Filed under Baby D, Parenting

One response to “4 weeks

  1. Yes, you will survive…I’m 8 weeks in and it’s already easier. Hang in there.

Leave a Reply

