6 Months & It’s Getting Good

I love my babies, but I also love to see them grow and learn new things.   I would even go so far as to say I like them more after about the 6-month mark.  My kids have both had a rough start.  Chloe was definitely a colicky baby.  Devon wasn’t quite as bad as his sister, but he’s still an intense little guy.  There hasn’t been a magical switch that flipped where they became happier kids overnight (like many people claim) but gradually they get happier, or maybe I just figure out what they need from me, and by 6-months I’m a pretty happy mama.

Devon can roll from his tummy to his back, and back to tummy, although he still hasn’t realized he can use it as a mode of transportation.  He shows no interest in crawling, but I’m okay with that for now.  He sits pretty well on his own, but I still put a pillow behind him, just in case.  He LOVES to jump.  Luckily we have a jumperoo, or my arms might have fallen off by now.

He slept through the night last weekend.  Once, but it happened, so I have hope again for the future.  (Note: I did not sleep through the night, because I kept waking up, wondering why he hadn’t woken up yet.  But, I did get a pretty darn good night’s rest!!)  He’s been doing a lot better about sleeping until about 4AM, eating, then going back to sleep until 6:30 or so.  I can totally handle that – for now at least 🙂

Devon has not yet met a food he doesn’t like.  He happily gobbles down everything we give him – apples, pears, peaches, blueberries, avocado, banana, carrots, sweet potato, cauliflower, peas, parsnips, potatoes, brocooli, butternut squash, green beans, risotto, rice cereal, oatmeal cereal, barley cereal and his newest conquest – The Puff!  For each solids feeding we added, he dropped one of his ‘previously scheduled’ feedings, so we’re sticking with just breakfast and dinner for now.  He gets a little angry at lunch, especially at MissK’s when his buddy who’s a month older than him is eating lunch, but I’m not quite ready for the self-weaning that seems to be taking place.

He’s a big boy, but not quite as chunky as I thought.  He weighed in at 19 lb, 7 oz (75th percentile) at his 6-month check-up.  He was 27 in. (60%) long and his head was 47cm (98.95%).  His head size jumped a bit this time, but our doctor wasn’t worried, since Chloe’s did the same thing and has stayed big without any problems.

The traditional lion picture:

And now he’s old enough and wiggly enough to make picture taking interesting.  Luckily, I got an assist from a purple arm.

And then the whole purple girl got in the picture, which made her brother very happy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Baby D

Leave a Reply

