Easy Jambalaya

I’m a big fan of Jambalaya, but we rarely have it at home.  Most recipes I’ve seen are pretty complicated and although I admittedly to enjoy the boxed jambalaya you can buy at the store, I’m pretty sure it’s horrible for me.  So I’ve been on the lookout for a good recipe for quite some time now.  And we finally found it!

The original recipe is from the 100 Days of Real Food website.  Here’s what we did:

Ingredients:

  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • ½ pound of sausage, preferably andoullie, or bacon (we did 1/2 and 1/2)
  • 1 large bell pepper, any color, in large dice
  • 1 large onion, in large dice
  • 1 small head garlic, cloves peeled and minced
  • 1 teaspoon Creole seasoning (sold premixed or make some)
  • Salt and freshly ground pepper to taste
  • 2 large tomatoes chopped (or equivalent quantity of cherry tomatoes)
  • 3/4 pound raw shrimp, peeled
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 1.5 cups quick cooking brown rice
  • 2 cups chicken stock/broth
  • 1 cup water
  • Hot sauce, to taste (optional – I thought it had enough kick without it, but Aaron poured it on)

Directions:

  1. Combine the butter and sausage and/or bacon in a large soup pot over high heat. Cook for about 6 minutes stirring occasionally.
  2. Add the bell pepper, onion, garlic, Creole seasoning, salt and black pepper to taste. Saute over high heat for about 8 minutes, or until the veggies have browned and carmelized.
  3. Add the tomatoes, shrimp, and bay leaves, and stir for a couple of minutes.
  4. Add the rice, stir gently, then add the broth and water. Gently stir the rice again to make sure it is not sticking to the bottom of the pot.
  5. Bring to a boil, then reduce heat, cover and simmer for about 15 minutes or until the rice is tender. (After about 20 minutes, our Jambalaya was still quite “soupy” but the rice was cooked, so we just drained off most of the liquid as we dished it up.)

Devon sat this one out, but Chloe, DaddyMort and I all gobbled it up.  Chloe tried to say she didn’t like the shrimp, but she hadn’t tried it yet.  I told her it’s one of my favorite foods ever and we ate a big bite together.  She got a big smile on her face and told me “I like it, mommy!”  I was super proud that she tried it and even happier that she liked it 🙂  Bonus: It made good leftovers for lunch later in the week!

1 Comment

Filed under Recipe

One response to “Easy Jambalaya

  1. I have a great recipe for gumbo that’s similar and not so spicy. I should send that one your way… after I retest it to make sure it’s good enough for my favorite Morts 🙂

Leave a Reply

