In Denial, No More

Approximately 6 years ago, I found out I was pregnant with Chloe Mae, formerly known as BabyMort. So for the last 6 years, any time my pants have been a little tight or I’ve been unhappy with my squishy middle, I’ve said something like, “It’s because I’m pregnant.” or “It’s because I recently had a baby.” However, I’m pretty sure that with my baby boy turning 3 next week (eeek!!) I can no longer use a ‘recent’ baby as an excuse. Now the question is, what am I going to do about it? 

I’ve been thinking about this for a while and I felt like not sitting at a desk for 6+ hours a day was a good start. I’m pretty sure my middle has not gotten any less squishy in the last 4.5 months though. (In fact, that kids have decided that they really enjoy poking it, Pillsbury Dough Boy style.) In the last month, I’ve started walking Chloe to and from school most days, which is about 3 miles a day. Half of that is at a meandering pace though, so it’s not great cardio. I have tried to counter that by taking a longer route and running some mornings on the way home. I have a huge mental block when it comes to running though. As I push the stroller along, and try to answer all of Devon’s never ending questions, I can only run a couple blocks before I’m winded. Then I forget how to breathe altogether and hobble along for a couple blocks until I try running again. *sigh* If anyone was following me, it would look pretty sad. I’m not giving up quite yet though. Do you have any tips for a beginning runner?

A couple mornings a week, I’ve also attempted yoga at home with this cutie.

We have tried out a Yoga for Families DVD. It’s not a total failure, but it’s not exactly a success either. Devon makes it about 10-15 minutes before he’s done. I can usually distract him for another 5-10 minutes.  Less than 30 minutes of kid-friendly yoga probably isn’t going to do much for me though.

So, what am I going to do about it? I’m not a morning person, so waking up before my kids to work out is not realistic for me. Consistently getting out of the house after Aaron’s off work won’t happen either. Are these just more excuses? Maybe, but I’m not likely to give up either of these excuses soon 🙂  I know I have smart friends though, so I know there’s a solution. What’s your kid friendly exercise plan?

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “In Denial, No More

  1. Dana

    Mama, you are beautiful! But, I hear ya! I love my stretch marks and what they represent, but oh, for a flat stomach again! :)! When my friend first taught me to run, Miriam was 3 and I pushed her in the stroller while the boys biked ahead of us (they had to stop at all intersections and never go if someone in a car waved them on). I did the run for 3 min, walk for 3 min, and slowly increased from there (So do not worry about stopping then starting! That’s how we all learned! :)!). And when I first learned to run the distances were so short, 2 miles of walk/run, I would roll out of the house (in my running gear, aka my pjs!) at 7 and be home by 7:30. But, I tell you what, to this day, if I can get up early and go to an hour class at the gym (I use the university gym) that is the best thing in the world for me. I am not a morning person, at all, but it is totally worth it, mentally and physically, for me to wake early and get exercise at some goofy class (zumba, spin, bootcamp, etc), whatever it is. (Not to mention, it’s especially nice if it’s before my kids & hubby wake, too, :)!) Love you, Mama! You are doing an amazing job with your cuties! :)!

  2. Amy W.

    Yeah… You are motivated and that’s good. I excuse myself from exercising because of the baby and not getting enough sleep. But I know I’d feel better if I did do it. Carolyn likes to “do Pilates” only because it’s an excuse to watch TV. She doesn’t last very long, either (though I don’t have a “kid friendly” one, I don’t think that would help). I just send her off to play or bounce on the ball while I finish.

    Once I’m finished nursing, I would like to get back to running, too. Perhaps we can do it together when our girls are at school together next year.

Leave a Reply

