I Hate Iowa Winters

I have lived in Iowa all my life, but I still hate winter. I don’t just dislike winter, I hate it. Hate is a strong word, I know. I tell my kids it’s not a nice word and discourage them from using it. But it’s pretty much the only way to describe my feelings towards the season. I am cold ALL THE TIME. The kids don’t get to play outside regularly and we all go stir crazy. We can’t make simple plans to go visit friends or family who live less than 30 miles away, because we never know how the roads are going to be. Not only is it cold, but it feels dark. Sometimes I think we’re lucky to get 8 hours of daylight. Less than 24 hours after the snow stops falling, and it’s no longer pretty and white, it’s dirty and gray.  And did I mention that I’m ALWAYS cold!?!

As a result of these extreme feelings, I’m not a huge fan of fall either. It’s not really fall’s fault, but winter does come right after it.  So as the temperatures start to cool down and the days get shorter, I can’t help but think about winter and get resentful towards fall. The picture below popped up on my Timehop today. Apparently, a year ago, we were worrying about snow already. (See why I don’t like fall…)

IMG_2201.JPG

When I first saw this today, I thought, “Ugh! I hate winter!” Then I said to myself, “Don’t jump the gun with the winter hating. This was last year’s forecast.” And then, I actually looked at this week’s forecast – you know, just to be sure – and saw that they’re predicting highs in the 70’s this weekend! What am I doing worrying about winter? I should be enjoying the good stuff while I can! So that’s what I plan to do this week 🙂

However, I’m sure it won’t be long before I’m daydreaming about moving someplace warm(er). At least for one winter. For any winter lovers out there, or any fellow winter haters who have figured out how to survive with a smile on your face, I ask, What is your secret?

1 Comment

Filed under Need Input

One response to “I Hate Iowa Winters

  1. Pingback: Homemade, Pinterest Inspired, Fall Decorations | MamaMort

Leave a Reply

