Momcomplishment – Eating a Hot Breakfast

In typical mom fashion, I rarely get to eat a hot breakfast, especially on weekdays when Daddy isn’t here as back-up. So this morning as I sat down with my pancake (reheated from the freezer) and saw that C had quickly scarfed down all but one bite, I sighed and said, “I suppose you’ll need me to get back up and get you more food?” It wasn’t my best moment, but I was hungry! So when C responded with, “No, I’m okay.” I was relieved that I could eat my food.

Then 20 seconds later, she told me she was hungry. *sigh* I suggested that she get a banana to split with her brother. That bought me a minute. Really, just one. These kids can eat very quickly (when they want to.) But then something amazing happened.

C got down from the table and walked over to the freezer. As she was opening it she said, “Are pancakes 30 seconds?” I was confused at first. “What’s happening here? What is she talking about?” Then I realized – microwave time. So I told her yes, then grabbed another bite while I watched her reseal the ziploc bag and close the freezer. I took a drink of my tea as she moved the step stool over to the microwave. She opened the microwave, put her plate in and closed it back up while I had another bite of pancake. Thirty seconds later, with some more of my breakfast gone, she opened the microwave and came back to the table with her second pancake in hand.

IMG_2487.JPG
I got to sit for several minutes in a row and eat my still hot breakfast! I just knew it was going to be a good day 🙂

To be fair, right after C sat down, I had to get up and help D make himself another pancake ‘all by himself.’ But the promise of kids who can do for themselves is there. This might just be the first in a long line of hot, fresh meals for this Mama!

**In other news, by the looks of this picture, C had learned the art of the duck face.**

1 Comment

Filed under Eating, Milestones, Parenting

One response to “Momcomplishment – Eating a Hot Breakfast

  1. Gorgeous Aunt Marcia

    Awesome.

Leave a Reply

