Make Lists…Check!

When you have a lot to get done, or even a little, is there a more satisfying feeling than crossing an item off of a checklist? I’m a big fan. It’s possible that I’ve even started a list with, “Make a list” so that I can cross an item off pretty quickly.

Given my love for lists, I’m not sure why I didn’t think of making lists for the kids sooner. So many days, especially this summer when we’re not doing much schoolwork, it seems like a never-ending battle to get the kids to complete even the smallest task. On a recent day, when I had several things I wanted to accomplish, I decided to make lists for the kids too.

IMG_8226

The kids happily and efficiently completed everything on their lists – and even added something in D’s case. I’ve made lists several times since, with the same result. And I asked myself, why didn’t I think of this sooner?

Tonight, I came up with a quick list for the kids to accomplish while I was getting dinner ready. And they did. Without complaining. It’s seriously amazing. I’m not sure how long it will last, but I will happily make them daily lists as long as it works!

IMG_8306

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

