The Sixth Love Language

When we got married over a decade ago, we were given a copy of “The 5 Love Languages: The Secret to Love that Lasts.” If you haven’t read the book, what it boils down to is that if you know your love language, and the love language of your spouse (or whomever you’re trying to show love – child, family member or friend) that you can more effectively connect. These are the categories that the book lays out:

5 Love Languages

According to the quiz you can take on their website, my love language is Acts of Service.

“For these people, actions speak louder than words.”

And while I would say that is fairly accurate, I feel like really there should just be a 6th love language: food. If i think about it, the act of receiving or giving food to others, could be considered an act of service. For me though, the act of providing or being provided food definitely ranks higher than other actions.

When I’m happy or sad, when there’s something to celebrate or someone needs cheering up, food is my answer. It’s my birthday – let’s eat all the best foods! You’ve had a baby – let me bring you food. You’re sick – let me send you a gift card to your favorite restaurant. You’ve had a rough day – let me find a bakery who will deliver!

Luckily, my husband and kiddos know this about me. So yesterday, on Mother’s Day, we didn’t have any big, elaborate plans, but we did have lots of amazing food. Breakfast was crepes, both savory and sweet. If you know me at all, you won’t be surprised to find out we had s’mores crepes!  Lunch was KFC with my mom, which is (disgustingly) delicious and brings back memories from childhood, when we’d have KFC at my grandma’s every year on Mother’s Day. The only thing that would have made it better would have been a turtle ice cream pie from Baskin Robbins, another tradition from Grammie’s house. Unfortunately, there isn’t a Baskin Robbins in town, so we had to made due without. In the afternoon, we visited my mother-in-law and had strawberry shortcake. We finished off the day with homemade deep dish pizza, that my kids and hubby started prep work for on Saturday.

There were gifts as well, both store bought and homemade. And they were great. But something about the food made me feel really loved and appreciated! So just know, if you ever receive food from me, chances are I’m trying to show you I care!

If you were to create a 6th love language that best described you, what would it be?

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

